If there is one thing I would suggest people do at least once in their lives, it would be to experience life as an international student in a foreign land. It is the most rewarding experience one can ever have. However, it is also one of the most difficult journeys one can ever imagine.

I am an international student here in the US pursuing Bachelor’s degree in one of the most prestigious universities of the Mid-West – Truman State University. The campus is beautiful and the people here are so warm and welcoming. It has been four and a half months since I have been here, yet it feels like I arrived just yesterday. I vividly remember all the thoughts that hit me on the ride from the airport to the college. What are the people there gonna be like? Will I be able to make good friends with the people I would meet? Will I be able to fulfill my dreams and aspirations studying here? As Michelle Obama often puts her early thoughts into words; will I be enough?

The people I have met until now have all told me how capable I am. I have had so many friends, colleagues, and even strangers-turned-acquaintances tell me how my thoughts about life, aspirations, love, and relationships are unique and special. I trust myself a lot when it comes to capabilities, but there are times when I question my decisions. I feel like it is a part of being human in this constantly changing world. For most part, this questioning nature of mine does wonders to the works that I am involved in. It allows me to explore. This journey of mine as an international student is no exception.

The night before I left, I texted my friends, and family letting them know what they mean to me and what they will always mean to me. I am so fortunate to have known all these wonderfully talented people who are doing great in their lives, and to have the privilege to be friends with them. It makes my heart swell with pride seeing them grow every single day.

When I was packing my bags, I was packing all the memories I had made with these wonderful people, my diary, my photos, beautiful gifts that friends had given me, and a lot more which I cannot even think of right now. All the while, there was a question that was eating me up – is it a right decision to leave everything I have built for myself behind for a future that I am not even sure of? Is it the right decision to start all over again in a land where I am a stranger? Is it the right decision to leave?

Now that it has been some while since I have been here, it is finally the time I say to myself, “Yes, it was the right decision.” I had never been more right about anything else.

There are many things that I know about living and studying in the US. However, there are still infinite number of things which I am not familiar with, which I do not even know that I am unfamiliar with at this point of time. This has been a driving force to keep on exploring. Everyday I learn something new, even if it is just how I could order a drink at McDonald’s, or knowing what Starbucks serves the best, or how I should approach someone professionally, or how I could greet people in the best way. What I have come to know is for someone whose goal has always been to keep on learning, this journey as an international student is a great opportunity. Yet, I also believe that for someone who finds it difficult to learn from the surrounding, or who finds it difficult to acknowledge the changes that is taking place in a positive way, this trail can be full of difficulties. The reason I say this is because I have seen people ruin their lives due to all the stress that comes with being a stranger in a foreign land, and with the realization that one is so far from one’s home. This is a sinking feeling that one should know how to handle. Only then this journey can be fulfilling and awarding.

What I have understood is people throughout the world are similar despite their differences. No matter where we are from we always have a common ground to stand on – humanity. We have unity in all the diversity we nurture. All of us have friendships with one another that have existed for a long period of time- friendships that come to life with a ‘Hi!’. I have also learned to believe that dreams do not necessarily change with the change in situation or surrounding. In fact, this change, when acknowledged positively, enhances the dreams that make us. It is always upon us where we take this journey filled with fulfillment yet loneliness at times, with questioning yet constant reinforcement of the belief in self. It is a wonderful feeling to be able to call oneself an international student, a global student. I cannot put into words how thankful I am towards every single person who made this dream of mine come true, especially my parents.

Sometimes, all of this still feels like a dream. There are days when I wake up and cannot believe that I am living one of my dreams – of studying in a foreign land. Then I look around and see all the wonderful people around me. I see all the wonderful opportunities that are awaiting. I see a whole world waiting for me to embrace it. I see that I made a right decision, and there could not be a more rightful decision. Ever.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.