I have always been the student who likes to learn, to explore. Learning has never felt enough. This has been one of the reasons that left me wanting to be the student whose learning never ceases, who is free to explore every dimension she dreams of. Perhaps this is why I decided that I wanted to be an international student, and that too not anywhere else but in the land where students like me have gathered from long ago; the United States.

I was in grade 9 when I decided that I would go to the US for my bachelor’s. The very image of sitting in a classroom full of students from all over the world was fascinating. I would spend a lot of time thinking about how it would be; how the people would be, how their thoughts would be different from mine, how they’ll perceive me and my ideas, and what not. The only people in this world who truly inspire me, the Obamas, were educated in this very country. Great minds have nurtured themselves in this place. “There must be something in the way people set themselves free in the pursuit of imagination”, I would assume.

Studying in the United States had always been my dream. Even when I thought of taking break from studying, thoughts about the chances of getting into a US University if worked hard enough brought me back into the game. Today I have made the dream come true. With unending efforts, undying willpower, and untamed support of my parents this day has come to life. How do I feel at this moment? Accomplished.

But now I have realized that this is not just about fulfilling dreams, this is about working to groom the person that I am to be the person I want to be. This is about becoming. Everything starts with a clean slate now. Nobody and nothing owns me. I am free to imagine, free to become. This feeling comes with responsibilty. Yet, this feeling is truly liberating.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.