It’s a fine morning and I am headed to my classroom

It’s a fine morning as I said

The sun has not reached the horizon yet

And the sky still has the remains of yellow and red

The grass has a familiar smell

It rained in the night that I can tell

I was getting my headphones on

When I stumbled upon a stone and almost fell

Perhaps I should concentrate on walking

I see my friends walking past

Say hello to some, and keep walking fast

I reach the classroom five minutes later

See the Professor is about to start today’s chapter

I get to a seat, grab a sheet of paper

Finish the journal assigned and decide to submit it later

I was following the professor when my eyes ended up outside

I see that the sun has come up entirely now

I see the squirrels, the trees,

The brown branches, the green leaves,

And like every other day, my mind wanders back home

Perhaps the weather back home is a bit warmer

Perhaps the wind  back home is a bit calmer

How can I not think of them when I know

Its that time of the year when everyone gathers in my home

Surrounded by delicious food, and gifts inside wrappers

This very moment, my little brother may be fooling around with crackers

and my room may be entirely filled with chatters

Of the people who I call ‘family’

‘Family’

I stumble upon the very feeling this word gives me

I stop thinking

I see around, my mind is back from wandering about

I see around and I see faces new to me yet familiar

I see around and hear voices different from mine yet familiar

I see around and feel surrounded

By people who I’ve never met before but who I feel are familiar

To me

Yes, it has only been 2 months since we met

But in these two months I’ve known them enough I bet

I know enough to know that every single one of them

Talks the way I do

Every single one of them

Walks the way I do

Every single one of them

Feels the way I do

Every single one of them

Sees the way I do

I know it in my heart that we are familiar

Yes, we might have different stories

But our differences in stories make us similar

We might speak different languages

But our differences in dialects make us similar

We might follow different lifestyles

But those very differences make us similar

Its been a while since I started wondering

And now I feel a surge of comfort passing through me

Perhaps I do not miss my family back home anymore

Perhaps I should concentrate in the classroom

Filled with people who I now call my ‘family’

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.